English?!

2015.01.11. 10:58 Kenny Silver

 

So, the time has come, after writing ’wasn’t-in-the-mood-to-count’ how many series of Hungarian posts I finally got inspired to reveal my deepest secrets in a way gooogle-translate will be able to cope with. Yes, English is turned on, though it is definitely not a new year’s resolution so it might or might not continue in the future. A good resolution would have been to continue writing regularly regardless of the language, but I don’t like to handicap myself. So I just kept my old promise: not to make any stupid or smart resolutions I might regret later on. Especially, as there are way too many distractions around constantly trying to tempt me with offering higher level of entertainment than pressing Alt+Tab repeatedly to double check my writing skills in not my mother tongue, online. Nevertheless, as my primary audience remains the same (yeah, sounds lame but it is myself) and I don’t necessarily prefer to build up sentences  literary correctly, I just want to clarify in the very beginning that even my grammatically incorrect sentences remain technically correct as I mistyped them deliberately.

 

Now that both my language skills’ and my future laziness’ asses are perfectly covered, let me set only one (more) ground rule before getting into storytelling mood. I seriously hate serious style of blogging. So please don’t forget to put on the invisible “ “ signs even if I don’t use them, as otherwise the content might not make too much sense. Like sometimes my verbal communication ;)

 

Once again way too many things happened since my last post, not to mention that I still owe the glorious story of my brother’s wedding – rather the bachelor party – to the audience, so let me begin the story with the events of last August 2014.

 

After flying home to Mumbai for a rather short period of 6 days (having the chance to enjoy the splendid monsoon season) I returned to Copenhagen again for another week. We were doing some new system testing there which turned out to be so exciting that the session was extended by one more week, and also my presence was highly appreciated till its end. Of course I had no objection stay in sunny CPH for another couple of days as an honoured guest of the company, so I gladly accepted this extension. Not to mention that we still had several cool sushi places in the city yet to explore. Therefore on the upcoming bright Saturday morning we founded a new biker gang with my good friend Andrew, rented two cool bikes, and roamed around the city to plunder some good Japanese food. Unfortunately our fuel tanks run dry several times during the day so we had to stop at some random roadhouse stations to refill them. In the meantime, our secondary objective was to watch a (probably) great live rugby game in the suburbs, but due to these vis major circumstances the only thing we were able to observe is the last 5 seconds of the game when the last players were leaving the field. That called for another tank-refill with Pat, member of the winner team, and it turned out that the after party of a rugby game can be really awesome. Oh yes, before I forget to mention - or someone would question our common sense why we stopped multiple times a day – our bikes was literally bicycles and the fuel we used was “special tea”*.

 

*Side-note: I just learnt this expression which might refer to beer in some restaurants mainly in South India which do not have a license to sell liqueur.

 

We got back to downtown by sunset and luckily were able to find a great sushi place where we could finally have dinner, and fill our bellies with some more solid(ish) meal. This feast was a perfect closure of the whole day long drink… I mean… riding tour. Not sure if it is due to things look better in hindsight, but I clearly remember we looked pretty darn cool riding our mighty bikes. Mine was white, and Andrew’s was pink. I still regret not clicking a single picture of them. I believe our gang should reunite soon.

 

So, after spending some more sleepy days in the Danish summer I really needed to wrap up quickly, as the next Saturday we had my brother Csaba’s bachelor party back in Hungary, and missing that one would have been a cardinal sin. Even though I wanted to arrive in the last minute like in a lame movie, I landed in Budapest one day earlier just to be one the safe side. The pre-party itself started in Eger – so I joined only later on - where the participants collected my brother and gave him the magnificent task of driving a Porsche 911 Carrera Cabrio to half way Budapest, where the real challenge began at a random highway petrol station. Considering that Cs’s driver duty ended here for the day, he was offered a few shots by the team just to take the upcoming task more seriously. First of all he had to write a really-really job specific CV & a motivation letter why his dream career was to be employed here as ‘Fuel Dispenser Nozzle Polisher Supervisor’. Then he just only needed a written confirmation and stamp from the manager of the station proving that he will be considered as a promising applicant to this fairly dynamic and challenging role. And due to his comprehensive professional experience in the subject the mission was accomplished in less than 15 minutes.

 

They were just about to leave when suddenly one of the most beloved Hungarian show-man: Gáspár Győzi appeared at the scene unexpectedly – accompanied by some of his minions -, so my brother improvised a new voluntary task to get a joint picture with him. Győzi was more than happy to pose in the pictures, in the meantime he shared one of his sad but true stories: “Once I had a Porsche too, but I had to get rid of it as the country was not pleased about it”. Then he also revealed which FB account of his is the real one – plus added/tagged the picture too right away -, and why he has around ten more duplicate accounts just to make sure that he is not getting disturbed by “undesired fellas”. After a few more minutes of friendly chit-chat it was time to say goodbye as the team still had some distance to cover shortly.

 

eng_1.jpg

 

The next stop of the trip was at one of the malls of Budapest suburbs, Pólus, where Cs was left on his own without his wallet, phone and ID cards making his next task quite easy and simple: get to the given address by any means ASAP. After several unsuccessful attempts of hitching a ride to town – seems average suburb mall visitors do not live in downtown – he realised what his best option was: Hop on the first bus and devolve any incidental fine upon us which might occur during the ride. However, as no controller appeared during the ride there was no need to explain the situation. I was already with the team once Cs arrived, and every one of us was impressed with the timing he made it to the scene of the party, which called for another drink, immediately.

 

the_scene_2.jpg

 Impressive view from the balcony – before the kick-off

 

 While the burden of preparing the dinner fell to Oli – and he nailed it like a master chef - the rest of the team continued to evoke the funniest memories and used some strong potions (minimum 40%++ alc.) to sharpen our minds. A few hours later we were feasting on the freshly made bográcsgulyás in a rather festive mood and by that time of course we could not wait for our “special guests” to arrive. Yes, strippers indeed. In plural form. Sadly for Csaba, who was not aware of the little trick that actually the first two “ladies” arriving were not exactly women genetically… Just to make it a bit more challenging he also got blindfolded, though his other senses did not fail him, and he actually saw through the disguise too early, sparing us from some really awkward moments. I felt indeed lucky not to see more of this special show. And finally, a few more drinks later the real stripper arrived (sadly this time word is in singular form) who truly did her best to amuse us, quite successfully. 

 

shop_cs_g.jpg

Brothers.

 

After the show – and the rest of the drinks – got finished we moved out from our HQ to spend the rest of the night in random clubs. Unfortunately I run out of energy too early, so probably I was the first man down. Once felt that my battery is critically low, I quickly activated the “safe mode” to get home before anything happens which worth putting on youtube. Sorry, for not saying any proper goodbye, that was the cost of my escape.

 

In summary, the party was more than awesome, the location was fabulous, the drinks were (nearly) unlimited and so on. Well done guys!

 

 And one week later, there was only one more thing to do before getting back to Mumbai, indeed, the wedding itself in the beautiful city of Eger. Being a member of the close family I had the privilege of being seated to the best spots during the ceremonies plus the dinner, and luckily, the only extra task I got from Csaba and Adri is to ensure the dance floor is never empty. Knowing the traditions of a Hungarian wedding this was not difficult at all, considering that after the heavy meals and plenty of welcome liqueurs everyone was in Fred Astaire mood.

 

mbf4304.jpg

 

I had an old promise to leave from any party once the song Afrika by KFT is played, and I already feared the moment of its kick-in, which eventually did happen. This time obviously I stayed due to two main reasons: First of all, I learnt from the Friends series that you should never refer to a wedding as a party, plus in this specific case leaving was definitely not an option. So I rather had two shots of pálinka quickly to ease my mind and continue dancing as per the agreement with the family. Long story short, that night I think I danced more than ever before, watched the others getting invisible (final level of drunkenness when you think you can do anything as no one can see you) and left only after the official closure. Primary objectives completed!

 

mbf4982.jpg

 Trailer of the upcoming Matrix movie

 

mbf4848.jpg

Yes, 3 more before I lose focus!

  

The other day I was already on my way back to Budapest since needed to catch a flight on Monday morning, and as a temporary last event in Hungary I went to a bikram yoga class with Ádám and Zsolti. It is a really intense and challenging sport, the only thing I could think about before almost fainting was that it’s probably a better idea to try it some other day than right after a wedding night.

 

To be continued…

Szólj hozzá!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://kennysilver.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr27060605

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása